The 52 Books in the Ancient Nag Hammadi Library

Books in the Nag Hammadi Library

What is the Nag Hammadi Library?

Nag Hammadi is a town in Egypt. In 1945, two Egyptian brothers found a large urn near Nag Hammadi, filled with ancient papyri. The Nag Hammadi library is a collection of manuscripts is believed to be from the 4th century, copies of documents written earlier. Most of the documents are indirectly related to early Christianity, though the content varies. None are considered inspired Scripture.

List of Books in the Nag Hammadi Library

Codex I (also known as The Jung Codex):
The Prayer of the Apostle Paul
The Apocryphon of James (also known as the Secret Book of James)
The Gospel of Truth
The Treatise on the Resurrection
The Tripartite Tractate
Codex II:
The Apocryphon of John
The Gospel of Thomas
The Gospel of Philip
The Hypostasis of the Archons
On the Origin of the World
The Exegesis on the Soul
The Book of Thomas the Contender
Codex III:
The Apocryphon of John
Holy Book of the Great Invisible Spirit named The Gospel of the Egyptians
Eugnostos the Blessed
The Sophia of Jesus Christ
The Dialogue of the Saviour
Codex IV:
The Apocryphon of John
Holy Book of the Great Invisible Spirit named The Gospel of the Egyptians
Codex V:
Eugnostos the Blessed
The Apocalypse of Paul
The First Apocalypse of James
The Second Apocalypse of James
The Apocalypse of Adam
Codex VI:
The Acts of Peter and the Twelve Apostles
The Thunder, Perfect Mind
Authoritative Teaching
The Concept of Our Great Power
Republic by Plato – The original is not gnostic, but the Nag Hammadi library version is heavily modified with then-current gnostic concepts.
The Discourse on the Eighth and Ninth – a Hermetic treatise
The Prayer of Thanksgiving (with a hand-written note) – a Hermetic prayer
Asclepius 21-29 – another Hermetic treatise
Codex VII:
The Paraphrase of Shem
The Second Treatise of the Great Seth
Gnostic Apocalypse of Peter
The Teachings of Silvanus
The Three Steles of Seth
Codex VIII:
The Letter of Peter to Philip
Codex IX:
The Thought of Norea
The Testimony of Truth
Codex X:
Codex XI:
The Interpretation of Knowledge
A Valentinian Exposition, On the Anointing, On Baptism (A and B) and On the Eucharist (A and B)
Codex XII:
The Sentences of Sextus
The Gospel of Truth
Codex XIII:
Trimorphic Protennoia
On the Origin of the World